Etihad Airways and Emirates have announced the temporary suspension of passenger flights to Saudi Arabia. The Gulf country extended its international travel ban to 20 countries.

In an effort to stop the spread of the coronavirus, Saudi Arabia extended closure of its international borders from February 3 to March 31, 2021.

„Effective February 3, 21:00 Saudi time – you will not be permitted to enter Saudi Arabia if you are travelling from or have been in any of the following countries in the past 14 days: Argentina, the United Arab Emirates, Germany, USA, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Pakistan, Brazil, Portugal, United Kingdom, Turkey, South Africa, Sweden, Switzerland, France, Lebanon, Egypt, India, Japan,” announced Etihad on its website.

Passengers, who have visited any of the restricted countries in the last 14 days must be quarantined for a period of 14 days after arriving in Saudi Arabia.

Saudi citizens will be quarantined for seven days after arriving in their home country.

“As directed by the government of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, Emirates will not accept non-Saudi national passengers on flights from Dubai to Saudi Arabia, with immediate effect and until further notice”, said an official update on the Emirates airline website.

“Customers holding tickets with final destinations in Saudi Arabia will not be accepted for travel at their point of origin. Exemptions are Diplomatic passport holders and Health Practitioners and their families.”

As of Wednesday, February 4, Air Arabia has also canceled flights to Jeddah.